Home > Atheism, Personal > Getting Away from God Part 3

Getting Away from God Part 3

After I left Cedar Grove, any real thought of God went with it. I would describe myself as Agnostic more than anything else. Really didn’t care one way or the other. And it stayed that way for the next 20 years or so…

Then I stumbled onto thunderf00t.

I was revisiting my youth. I could not believe it. There are STILL people who believe this crap?

As I dug deeper into thunderf00t’s videos and others, I realized a few things:

  1. I was really an Atheist
  2. The Republican party had gone off the deep end, mostly due to the Christian Coalition
  3. The policies set by these ‘Born Again’ Christians are hurting America

It is the last point that likely drove me to create this blog.

If you want to believe in God, Oden, Ganesha, etc. that’s fine by me. However, if your belief is going to drive you to push policies in the United States that is going to hurt USA’s standing in the world, than the least I can do is speak out about it.

Anyway, I thought it was important to post some background on me before I move on to other topics. I was certainly not as ‘deep down the rabbit hole’ as some more popular atheists were at one time (The Thinking Atheist for example), but I look at that as a good thing. 🙂

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

