Home > Atheism > The GOD Delusion

The GOD Delusion

So one book I picked up lately was ‘The God Delusion’ by Richard Dawkins.

The God Delusion

I’m not going to do a blow by blow account, but give a 20,000 foot overview.

The first few chapters were on the money:

  • A Deeply Religious Non-Believer
  • The God Hypothesis
  • Arguments for God’s Existence
  • Why There Almost Certainly is No God

I thought the chapters were well written and Dawkins made his case well.

The next few chapters I had some issues:

  • The Roots of Religion
  • The Roots of Morality: Why Are We Good?

The chapters were fine, but a heavier read.  The part about Cargo Cults made me laugh out loud since I never heard of it before. It just stuck me that someone who was reading this as a believer might just read over these chapters because they were too deep.

  • The ‘Good’ Book and the Changing Moral Zeitgeist
  • What’s Wrong with Relgion? Why be so Hositle?

These chapters get the book back on track at a level that can hit at the believer in a language that all can understand.

  • Childhood, Abuse and the Escape From Religion
  • A Much Needed Gap?

I thought the chapters looking at religion as child abuse did not make it’s case well. Some families who are deep down the rabbit hole, I can see it going in that direction, but most people reading this books are not there. I think this chapter needed a lighter (but still hard hitting) touch.

Overall, it was a good read. I’m considering picking up The Greatest Show on Earth: The Evidence for Evolution at some point, but not right away.

Categories: Atheism Tags: ,
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

