Home > Board Games, Personal > My Return to Dungeons and Dragons

My Return to Dungeons and Dragons

Beholder

D&D Beholder

Well, that’s not 100% true.

So some history… I played mostly with what is called today D&D 1e (First Edition) back some 25+ years ago. Darn that sounds old. I played overall for about 5 years or so at least 5 days a week during the summer. Anyway, I stopped about the time I was finishing my undergrad degree. My friends and I just didn’t have the time anymore to play. Between school, girlfriends, getting married, kids, etc. Real life was just getting in the way.

This past summer, one of my friends was starting a new adventure using the 3.X version of the rules. Overall it went OK, but it got me to dig out my old books and my older son starting looking into it. Now both kids want to learn.

Currently D&D is at version 4 (4e as it is called). There is a big debate about which version is better 3.Xe or 4e. Personally, from the little I know, I’m going with 4e. Version 3.X gives the players a lot of freedom to customize their character. Personally, I don’t like that as much. I like players who have roles within the party. It just seemed too generic. Anyway, I think 4e is a little easier on the rules and that will allow my kids to get their heads around it.

I’ll keep posting to let people know how it goes…

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

