Home > Personal, Video Games > Minecraft

Minecraft

Minecraft

Yea, I’m playing Minecraft, there goes a lot of free time. πŸ˜‰

So for those few, who have not heard of Minecraft before, think of it as a computer game that’s a lot like playing Legos and bad guys come and try to mess you up. It’s a lot of fun and a bit of a story on how I got there.

In short, our computer was old and sounded like it wasn’t going to last too much longer. That’s not too bad of a thing, since I use my IPad and hardly touch it. That said, my wife needed the computer to last about another year before she could totally be off of it and be 100% IPad (2nd job). So I got a low to mid-range computer (AMD A4 with 2 Gig of RAM). Anyway the kids and I have been playing a lot of Minecraft for the IPod which isn’t half bad, but misses a lot of the full game, so we jumped at it. My two sons and I are sharing a Minecraft ID for now.

What I didn’t know is how much you can create mods for Minecraft. This reminds me a lot of Doom back in the day. I might be playing this a lot more than I thought!

Anyway, the summer has been a busy one, both for work and fun. I’m going to make a point to post at least once per week for the reminder of the summer and then I’ll pick up more then.

  1. September 8, 2012 at 11:29 pm

    Hello, could you tell me which of the AMD A4 CPU you are using, and how well it performs on medium/high graphic/view settings?
    Thank you! πŸ™‚ I am considering getting a inexpensive A4 or A6 as I rarely play games, but Minecraft does not run well on my current system, not even on short range.

  2. September 10, 2012 at 12:26 pm

    So, I’m using the following:
    CPU: AMD Dual Core A4-3420
    RAM: 4GB DDR3
    AMD Radeon HD 6410D Integrated Graphics
    OS: Windows 7 Home Premium SP1

    Minecraft works fine on this for me. I actually picked this up at Staples. I even run the PureDBCraft graphic pack and I don’t have any problems with it.

    The RAM is no problem, usually use half of the 4GB when playing. I wouldn’t try to run it on 2GB, I would think that would be too tight.

    The CPU runs beween 55-60% for Short, 70-75% Normal and 70-80% for Far. I can’t run MC Server on it and play at the same time, it will crash. I don’t get lag on Far when playing.

    The A4 works with this config, but I think this is lowest you would want to go. YMMV. πŸ™‚

  3. September 10, 2012 at 1:42 pm

    Thank you for the details on your system!
    As I have spare components (case, power supply, sata drives…) all I need is a mainboard, CPU (and the integrated graphic chip) & RAM.
    I rarely game so I just want a cheap little system.
    I could get a ~ A4-3420, 4GB DDR3 Ram & Mainboard for about €100/$130. If that works for FAR, that’s better then what I have hoped for.

    Yeah, especially with anything else then XP 2GB seem a bit minimalistic, but as 4GB are almost as cheap that’s no big deal (Price difference seems to be ~5€).

    Of course, I could spend twice to three times as much on a neat system (A6 or even i5/i7), but right now even my netbook (N270) works fine (mostly a little 3D modeling & 3D printing, image editing, OpenOffice & Web etc.).

    -Marcus

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

