Home > Personal > What is it with Old People

What is it with Old People

Clearly if you read my blog you see that I’m middle aged. What I don’t get is the generation after me when it comes to health. Am I really going to be this way in 20 years? Let me tell you briefly about some folks in my parents generation:

  • Male ‘Alpha’: Smoked all his life until he needed part of his lungs removed due to cancer.  He’s diabetic but eats candy all the time.  Doesn’t listen to what his doctor says.  He won’t last the year.
  • Male ‘Beta’:  Dibetic and overweight.  He drinks beer and eats ice cream whenever no one is home.  Doesn’t listen to what his doctor says.  He’s living month to month.
  • Male ‘Gamma’: Dibetic and overweight.  Eats about 5 meals per day.  Does zero excerise.  Retaining fluids in his legs because his heart is not strong enough to pump it out.  Doesn’t listen to what his doctor says.

???

What is with these folks? Do they have a death wish? I understand smoking (never started) and drinking to a degree. All of these men likely could have lived another 10 years. Two won’t last the year. The 3rd it’s not too late for yet, but is doing little to help his health.

It’s sad, but I wonder if I will be that way in 20 years time or will I listen and try to live as long as possible. I hope so and it is not just we all get that stupid when we get older.

Categories: Personal Tags: , ,
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

