Home > Board Games, Personal > Dungeons & Dragons: Wrath of Ashardalon

Dungeons & Dragons: Wrath of Ashardalon

Ashardalon

Well, something new to try. 🙂

So I tried to intro my kids into D&D with mixed results. My kids were around 8 and 11 when we tried.

  • Using Dungeon Mapp with the IPad on the TV worked well.  Using it to keep the hit points was OK at best, because I don’t like to make that public.  Also it could use more graphic options, but for the price it worked great.
  • The downside was my kids invited other kids their age to play.  My wife and another adult played as well, but I didn’t feel it really worked out.  Too many kids.
  • I tried to scale it back to my wife and my kids.  I think that might work at some point, but I can’t trust my sons (certainly not the younger) to keep track of spells used, etc.  Just too much record keeping at this point.  I think my older son is ready, but I can’t focus on him and my younger to keep things straight.  This is something I can DM around, but I’d like for them to learn.
  • I’m going to try and figure something out in the summer, until then I picked up Wrath of Ashardalon.

I think this might solve a number of issues…

  • I think this will give me the structure needed to keep things in control.
  • The watered down version of D&D 4e will show them the ropes of record keeping a bit more.
  • I can play on the kids ‘team’ and have fun that way.

I never thought I’d buy a D&D board game (just play the real thing), but I think this might work out.  I’ll do a review later.

  1. March 6, 2013 at 9:46 pm

    My brother is really into D&D and I play with him when we get the opportunity. We brought WoA to a family reunion to see if our cousins would enjoy it, and they all got really into it. One of them is even starting a D&D club in her school!

    ~Dylan

    • March 6, 2013 at 10:16 pm

      That’s great to hear! I really wanted Castle Ravenloft, because my youngest is into the scarier stuff, but this was a great price online. CR will be next if my kids like WoA.

      • March 6, 2013 at 10:42 pm

        My brother has CR but I haven’t gotten around to playing it with him (it’s kinda hard when I’m in the US and he is in the UK). I think he is a fan though!

        ~Dylan

      • March 6, 2013 at 10:48 pm

        Well all this D&D talk has gotten me to download the play test rules to D&D Next. I also looked at ‘Rats in the Sewers’, etc. adventure for ‘Next’ earlier today. I might have to port the adventure to 4e, it was a nicely written module.

      • March 7, 2013 at 12:22 am

        The other brother here.

        I DM weekly and we’ve been running a DnDNext playtest for a few months now. General thoughts about it aside (short version: I’m a fan) I think it does a lot to lower the barrier to entry. Not sure if it’s ideal for your kids (and not sure how that would work with it being a playtest and all anyways), but I’ve had a lot of success exciting a new-to-D&D and younger crowd with it.

        I have to keep a lot of the book-keeping for newer players in my head, and I still needed to devote a half-session’s worth of time just helping them come to terms with characters, but in the end everyone came back for more, which I consider a success. =) One of the best parts about DMing for non-D&Ders or a younger crowd is that nothing is sacred. If some bit of in-between is trudging along or a battle isn’t fast-paced enough, it’s apparent quickly. I’ve learned a lot and been able to make my home sessions for the more regular players much better as a result (often in ways it wasn’t immediately apparent could be improved).

        -Dustin

      • March 7, 2013 at 12:49 am

        Brothers who share the same account. Nice idea!

        I’m not sure if I’m going to run a Next campaign, as I need to read the rules first. However, it’s nice to know that Next might be more approachable.

        If you asked me today, I’m likely sticking with 4e for a bit until I see some reviews and let them shake out the bugs. Maybe 2 years from now I would consider it. Unless the price is right to get in early.

        Also, D&D has been changing its rule set too quickly. I’d like to know that this one is going to stick for a bit. Otherwise, I might just go with the theory to stay one version behind the current one and pick up the old books on the cheep. If 4e is a close approximate to 5e this makes good sense to me…

      • March 7, 2013 at 1:54 am

        Yeah, I think the key is just going with a ruleset that captures what you want most about the game. I had already kind of gotten turned off by 4E rules and was running a campaign of my own design when DnDNext came along. We started just as a way to try it out and give back to the community via feedback, but it was so popular that it’s become our regular campaign.

        A lot of that is less about exactly what they’ve put into DnDNext, and more about what they’ve not put in. The developers over at WotC have been quite plain about the fact that they want this not to just be another edition, but a unifying set of core rules that everyone can relate to. A big part of that is capturing what’s fun about D&D, from any edition, providing enough options where necessary, and getting out of the way the rest of the time.

        It’ll be a while yet before DnDNext takes any kind of product form – they’re running the playtest parallel to a lot of the development and plan to take their time to get the best set of rules rather than rush something out. By the time they do, I’d be interested to hear how it seems from the perspective of a more skeptical 4E-er. =)

        -Dustin

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

